Skip to content ↓

Support and Inclusion


All Students will need support and help from time to time during their attendance at school. To prioritise and identify where the support is most needed we have drawn a simple model where:

Wave 1 support is for all eg differentiated work and high quality teaching in every classroom

Wave 2 support is for the many eg mentoring programmes for targeted students, intervention groups

Wave 3 is for a few eg physiotherapy, 1 to 1 literacy support, counselling, bespoke individualised learning programme

To look at the Wave 3 support in more detail we have identified three different types of support:

Welfare - Students who need support with personal and emotional concerns that have an impact at school and at home. As such, we would offer the support of a Early Help Assessment (EHA) and look to support from outside school, eg a Family Worker or Young People’s Worker and agencies such as the Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service (CAMHS). Some students and families may need an even higher level of support from social care or the young person may be in care.

Mrs Alison Setchfield leads this team and works alongside our School Counsellor, Ms Frances Barrett and a Medical Room Manager. They are housed on the ground floor of Nunnery Court.

Name Title email Contact
Alison Setchfield Welfare Manager asetchfield@hbk.acesmat.uk 

01480 375700 

ext 5784

Alie Winter Deputy Welfare Manager awinter@hbk.acesmat.uk 

01480 375700

ext 5111

Frances Barrett School Counsellor fbarrett@hbk.acesmat.uk 01480 375700 ext 5815
Bev Angel Medical Room Manager

medicalroom@hbk.acesmat.uk

 

01480 375700 ext 5794

Gateway School -  Students who have medical, emotional and behavioural concerns that result in poor attendance at school and feel that full-time mainstream school is too much for them may require an individual bespoke timetable via the Gateway School.  Attendance can be full-time or part-time, with students attending lessons in the Gateway, some in mainstream or a combination of both.  For some students the Gateway is only required at social times or before school, break, lunch and/or tutor time.  Older students may also combine time at school with external provision at college or work experience.  A few students spend all their time at these external provisions and do not attend school but are checked in with each day and visited once a week by the Gateway staff.  All students who attend the Gateway either have an EHC Plan, an EHA or a Pastoral Support Plan (PSP).

Name Title email Contact
Bradley Panther Alternative Provision Manager bpanther@hbk.acesmat.uk

01480 375700

ext 5603

Adam Burton Deputy Alternative Provision Manager aburton@hbkacesmat.uk 01480 375700
ext 5904
Debbie Thurston Inclusion Worker  dthurston@hbk.acesmat.uk

01480 375700

ext 5603

David Moody Inclusion Worker    dmoody@hbk.acesmat.uk

01480 375700

ext 5603